Colleges and Departments

Check out our playlist above for more information on Oswego's four schools

Academic programs and departments at SUNY Oswego are organized into several divisions, with four primary academic schools.

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is the largest academic division, both in number of students and in number of courses of study. Providing a broad basis for a liberal education, Arts and Sciences offers more than 40 undergraduate majors in everything from American studies to zoology, interdisciplinary programs, dozens of minors, eight cooperative degree programs, pre-professional advisement, several special-interest tracks and four graduate programs.

School of Business
To keep pace with a rapidly evolving business world, programs in the School of Business integrate classroom learning with advanced computer applications and various forms of applied education, such as case studies, simulations, group projects and internships. Nationally accredited by AACSB International — the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business — the school offers seven undergraduate majors and an MBA program as well as two unique five-year combined bachelor's/MBA degree programs, one in accounting and one in psychology.

School of Communication, Media and the Arts
The School of Communication, Media and the Arts brings together programs related to the study and creation of messages through art and music, electronically and via the spoken word. The school combines the strengths of fine and performing arts programs in art, music and theatre with the highly diverse department of communication studies. Eight undergraduate degree options and one master's degree are offered in addition to interdisciplinary majors and minors.

School of Education
Innovation in teaching methods has been a hallmark of SUNY Oswego since our founding as a teachers' training institution in 1861. This creative spirit still thrives in our School of Education, where advanced techniques and early experiences in the classroom help students become teachers ready to meet the expectations of today's students. With nine undergraduate major tracks and 21 graduate or certificate of advanced students programs, the School of Education is nationally accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).